Get Media Industry Alerts
Visit min's sister site:

Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn   Google+   
Latest Issue »
Subscribe Now »
Get 4
Free Issues »

ABM Unveils 2014 Neal Award Finalists

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

The association of business information and media companies, American Business Media (ABM), announced its 2014 finalists for the Jesse H. Neal Awards, a top b-to-b industry honor. The 60th annual awards ceremony is set to take place, March 14, 2014 at Pier Sixty in New York City.

A division of the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA), ABM handed out its first Neal Award, named for the company’s first managing director, in 1955 in an effort to recognize and reward editorial excellence in b-to-b media.

This year’s most prestigious honor, the Grand Neal winner for overall editorial excellence from a media brand, will be unveiled during the presentation ceremony. This year’s finalists include Penton’s Aviation Week, Crain Communication’s Crain’s New York Business, Scholastic’s Instructor and last year’s winner IEEE Spectrum published by IEEE Media.

Of the total 612 entries submitted, down from 640 submissions last year, a full list of the 173 finalists can be found here.

The most major changes this year were in the categories themselves, not the group of media brands nominated.

Last year’s award for “Best Theme Issue of a Magazine” was expanded to become the “Best Theme Issue of a Magazine or Newspaper” and the category “Best Recurring Webcast” was changed to “Best Webcast.”

The award for “Best Newsletter” will not be presented this year. ABM has not disclosed a reason why the category was removed, only saying no finalists were selected. In 2013, Private Equity Analyst, from publisher Dow Jones Corporate Markets, won the award beating out other finalists Dow Jones Venture Wire, FiereceGovernmentIT and Delaware Business Court Insider.

Other notable nominees include a repeat nomination for 2013 “Best Range of Work by a Single Author” winner Aaron Elstein from Crain’s New York Business and Class C “Best Single Article” finalists, three of which are from Crain Communications with Hanley Wood rounding out the group.

Last year’s Grand Neal winner, “A Shocking Truth” from IEEE Spectrum also won that Class C award, beating out a Crain Communications submission from its Automotive News title. Two articles from Automotive News are nominated this year.

If you have breaking news to share please contact min's editors.

Friend Us on Facebook at


min's Magazine Media Awards Announced
View the Winners & Honorable Mentions

min's Integrated Marketing Awards
Entry Deadline: June 24
Enter Today

min Webinar:
How To Get Even More From Facebook

Watch Ondemand

See all events and awards

Search Jobs
Media Jobs
Email Marketing Specialist
Harvard Business Publishing
Brighton, MA

Managing Editor
University of Maryland, Baltimore
Baltimore, MD

Attorney Editor State Q&A
New York, NY

Vice President for College Relations and Marketing
Washington College
Chestertown, MD

University of Maryland
College Park, MD

White Papers
Get even smarter.  Need a quick primer on a media topic? Download a white paper!

Optimizing Your Printer Services - By MRI

Media Insights: minsider Viewpoints from the Front Lines - By min

View Whitepapers
min Contests

min contests

Want to sponsor a min contest?

Inside min This Week

Free Eletters — Sign up Now