Get Media Industry Alerts
Visit min's sister site:

Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn   Google+   
Latest Issue »
Subscribe Now »
Get 4
Free Issues »

'People' Wins Four 'Sales  Executive of the Year' Awards

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Karen Kovacs
Karin Tracy
is the most profitable U.S. magazine and had an excellent, +5.6% ad-page advertising 2010,  so it was appropriate that the magazine did very well at min's seventh "Sales Executive of the Year" awards breakfast Thursday morning (June 2) at New York's Grand Hyatt.  Karen Kovacs, who was promoted to People publisher in December 2010, was selected "Sales Team Leader of the Year" for a single brand. 

Same honor went to Karin Tracy, publisher of spinoff People StyleWatch, who produced a +49.7% ad-page 2010, while Daniel Riley, group ad director for the People-flagshipped Time Inc. Style & Entertainment Group won for "Sales Team Leader"/multiple brands.  Plus, People/Entertainment Weekly executive beauty director Evan Chodos was the "Salesperson of the Year"/multiple titles recipient.

Also in the Time Inc. "family" was InStyle associate publisher Timothy O'Connor's win for "Salesperson of the Year"/single title—500,000 circulation and above.

Here are program's other winners:

► "Salesperson of the Year"/single title—500,000 circulation and above (co-winners): Christopher Bower (Wired account director) and Susan Sanford (Scholastic Parent & Child West Coast ad sales director)
► "Salesperson of the Year"/single title--50,000-to-100,000 circulation: Diana Berry (Curve magazine senior account executive)
► "Salesperson of the Year"/total integrated program sales: Sara Schiano (Bonnier Technology Group account manager)
► "Salesperson of the Year"/mobile--Web, apps, iPad (co-winners): Carol Gillard (Future U.S. regional sales manager) and Anthony Losanno (Maximum PC, Mac|Life, Maximum Tech, PC Gamer Eastern sales director)
► "Sales Team Leader"/single title (co-winner): Amy Wilkins (Martha Stewart Weddings publisher)
► "Sales Team Leader"/Web and mobile: Trish Conheeney (
► "Magazine Sales Team of the Year" (co-winners): The Advertising Specialty Institute,  NextStepU magazine and The Parents Network

Additionally, min inducted 10 members into the "Sales Executive Hall of Fame": Ted Bahr (BZ media senior VP/publisher), Steve Cholas (Hearst Business Media group publisher),  Greg Coleman (Criteo Global president), Fran Farrell (Turnstile Publishing Group president/CEO), Kris Flitcroft (Cygnus Business Media executive VP/construction), Colleen Lafferty (Maiorana+Partners president), Chris Lambiase (Rodale Inc. senior VP/publishing director), Bruce Morris (SourceMedia VP), Tom Rousseau (Ziff Davis Enterprise senior VP and company sales coach) and Valerie Salembier (Town & Country senior VP/publisher/chief revenue officer).

Keynoter was American Express Publishing Co. president/CEO and 2006 "Sales Executive Hall of Fame" inductee Ed Kelly.

Read more about our winners and honorable mentions.

If you have breaking news to share please contact min's editors.

Friend Us on Facebook at


min's Magazine Media Awards Announced
View the Winners & Honorable Mentions

min's Integrated Marketing Awards
Entry Deadline: June 24
Enter Today

min Webinar:
How To Get Even More From Facebook

Watch Ondemand

See all events and awards

Search Jobs
Media Jobs
Email Marketing Specialist
Harvard Business Publishing
Brighton, MA

Managing Editor
University of Maryland, Baltimore
Baltimore, MD

Attorney Editor State Q&A
New York, NY

Vice President for College Relations and Marketing
Washington College
Chestertown, MD

University of Maryland
College Park, MD

White Papers
Get even smarter.  Need a quick primer on a media topic? Download a white paper!

Optimizing Your Printer Services - By MRI

Media Insights: minsider Viewpoints from the Front Lines - By min

View Whitepapers
min Contests

min contests

Want to sponsor a min contest?

Inside min This Week

Free Eletters — Sign up Now